

Julián Martínez-SimancasGeneral secretary and secretary of the Board of Directors

Bilbao, August 21, 2012

To the National Securities Market Commission

Re: Resignation and appointment of director of the Company and member of its Executive Committee

Pursuant to Section 82 of Law 24/1988, of July 28, on the Securities Market (Ley 24/1988, de 28 de julio, del Mercado de Valores) and related provisions, we hereby advise you that, on August 21, 2012, the Board of Directors of Iberdrola, S.A. (the "Company") has unanimously approved, among others, the following resolutions:

- (i) To acknowledge the resignation handed over by Mr. Francisco Pons Alcoy from his positions as director of the Company and member of the Executive Committee.
- (ii) To appoint Mr. Manuel Lagares Gómez-Abascal, on an interim basis, at the proposal of the significant shareholder "Banco Financiero y de Ahorros, S.A." and following the issuance of a favourable report by the Nominating and Compensation Committee, as external proprietary director and, upon the prroposal of such Committee, as member of the Executive Committee to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Mr. Francisco Pons Alcoy. Mr. Manuel Lagares Gómez-Abascal has accepted his appointments as member of the Board of Directors and of the Executive Committee.

The appointment of Mr. Lagares Gómez-Abascal as director will be submitted for ratification at the first General Shareholders Meeting held after this communication, and his term of office will end on June, 22, 2016, as that of the previous director, Mr. Pons Alcoy, whom he replaces.

After giving effect to the resignation and appointment referred to above, the composition of the Board of Directors of the Company and its Executive Committee will be as indicated in the annex to this price-sensitive information notice.

Yours truly,

General secretary and secretary of the Board of Directors

NOTICE. This document is a translation of a duly approved Spanish-language document, and is provided for informational purposes only. In the event of any discrepancy between the text of this translation and the text of the original Spanish-language document which this translation is intended to reflect, the text of the original Spanish-language document shall prevail.

Composition of the Board of Directors of Iberdrola, S.A.

Director	Tittle	Type of director
Mr. José Ignacio Sánchez Galán	Chairman & Chief Executive Officer	Executive
Mr. Víctor de Urrutia Vallejo	Vice Chairman	External independient
Mr. Julio de Miguel Aynat	Member	External independient
Mr. Sebastián Battaner Arias	Member	External independient
Mr. Xavier de Irala Estévez	Member	External proprietary
Mr. Íñigo Víctor de Oriol Ibarra	Member	External independient
Ms. Inés Macho Stadler	Member	External independient
Mr. Braulio Medel Cámara	Member	External independient
Ms. Samantha Barber	Member	External independient
Ms. María Helena Antolín Raybaud	Member	External independient
Ms. Santiago Martínez Lage	Member	External independient
Mr. José Luis San Pedro Guerenabarrena	Chief Operating Officer	Executive
Mr. Ángel Jesús Acebes Paniagua	Member	Other external
Mr. Manuel Lagares Gómez-Abascal	Member	External proprietary
Mr. Julián Martínez-Simancas Sánchez	Secretary not member	

Composition of the Executive Committe of Iberdrola, S.A.

Director	Tittle	Type of director
Mr. José Ignacio Sánchez Galán	Chairman	Executive
Mr. Víctor de Urrutia Vallejo	Member	External independient
Mr. Xavier de Irala Estévez	Member	External proprietary
Ms. Inés Macho Stadler	Member	External independient
Mr. José Luis San Pedro Guerenabarrena	Member	Executive
Mr. Manuel Lagares Gómez-Abascal	Member	External proprietary
Mr. Julián Martínez-Simancas Sánchez	Secretary not member	