

RODRIGO BUENAVENTURA IS RENEWED AS MEMBER OF ESMA'S MANAGEMENT BOARD

04 July 2024

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has re-elected the CNMV's Chairman, Rodrigo Buenaventura, as a member of its Management Board for a second term. ESMA's Management Board is a governing body where six chairpersons of national securities authorities are elected from among the 27 members of the European supervisor's Governing Board.

The Chairman of the CNMV was appointed member to the Management Board in January 2022 for a first term and the renewal is for a period of 2.5 years.

The Management Board's main mission is to ensure that ESMA fulfils the tasks assigned to it by the European Parliament and the Council in its Founding Regulation, and among other specific functions, proposes working programmes and monitors budgetary and management issues of the authority.

The Management Board is currently composed of: Verena Ross, from ESMA; Vojtech Belling, from the CNB (Czech Republic); Vasiliki Lazarakou, from the HCMC (Greece); Thorsten Pötzsch, from BaFin (Germany); Armi Taipale, Finanssivalvonta (FIN-FSA); Eduard Müller, from FMA (Austria), and Rodrigo Buenaventura. Natasha Cazenave from ESMA and a representative of the European Commission is also part of the body, but without voting rights.